[ditty id=3116]


Our Governing Body

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school.

Elsecar Holy Trinity Primary School is part of St. Mary’s Academy Trust, therefore overall responsibility for the Governance of the school lies with the Trust Board of Directors. Elsecar Holy Trinity also have a Local Governing Body which works closely in partnership with the Headteacher, staff and representatives from

St. Mary’s Academy Trust.

The Headteacher, Mr Steve Silverwood, is responsible for the day to day running of the school. However, she works closely with governors who make an essential contribution to the life of the school. They work together to provide the strategic direction for the school. It ensures that school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives. A key role of  the Local Governing Body is to act as a ‘critical friend’, to support, to challenge, to ask questions, and through this work, to represent the school community.

Our Local Governing Body consists of:

Mr James Sloane – Chair of Governors

Mr Steve Silverwood –Headteacher

Mrs Kelly Westwood – Staff Governor

Mrs Claire Mellon – Parent Governor

Mrs Patience Chikjoko – Parent Governor

Mr Richard Travis – Parent Governor

Rev Stephen Chapman – Trust Governor

Mr Ian Stenton –   Trust Governor



Results of the Questionnaire